The Alberta Securities Commission (ASC) on Thursday announced the appointments of Trudy Curran, Karen Kim and James Oosterbaan as ASC members, each for a three-year term expiring on March 31, 2020.

According to the ASC's announcement Curran holds over 30 years of experience as a legal professional and business leader across a wide range of industries including energy and transportation.

Most recently, she was senior vice president and general counsel of Canadian Oil Sands Ltd. Now serving as a professional director, Curran sits on the board of directors for the Dominion Diamond Corporation, Baytex Energy Corp. and the Kids Cancer Care Foundation of Alberta.

She holds an LLB with Distinction from the University of Saskatchewan College of Law. She also holds the Institute of Corporate Directors designation and serves on the executive committee of the ICD's Calgary chapter.

Kim possesses over 20 years of experience in capital markets, derivatives, risk management and investments. She has worked in progressively more senior finance roles at Petro-Canada and Suncor Energy, most recently as director, corporate finance.

She holds a B.Comm (Accounting) from the University of Calgary, and is a Chartered Accountant and Chartered Financial Analyst.

Oosterbaan has over 30 years of experience in the energy sector, with extensive experience in the commodity and derivatives markets. Most recently, he was the president and chief executive officer of NGX, part of the TMX Group. Before joining the TMX, he spent over 10 years in senior management positions with Capital Power Corp. and its predecessor company, EPCOR.

Oosterbaan holds an MBA from the University of Western Ontario, the Institute of Corporate Directors designation and has completed the Stanford Executive Program at Stanford University. He currently serves on the board of directors for Chestermere Public Utilities.

In addition to the new member appointments, Ann Rooney, has been re-appointed to the position of lead independent member.

The ASC also thanked Fred Snell and Richard Shaw, who each successfully completed their second three-year term with the ASC, which expired on March 31.

Members of the ASC act as the board of directors for the organization, functioning as adjudicators of applications, disputes and enforcement proceedings before the commission. They also approve recommendations for new or revised rules and policies applicable to the Alberta capital market.